Why I didn’t say Merry Christmas or Happy New Year on social media.

You may find this opinion piece unpopular and that is okay. I do this blog not because I have to, but because I want to.

Now that Christmas and New Year’s have came and went, I can get this piece of information out.

Do you know why I didn’t wish anyone a Merry Christmas or a Happy New Year on social media? It’s because I have friends, colleagues, etc, that don’t celebrate either one. On the Christmas side, they either celebrate Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, or they don’t even celebrate it at all. As for New Year’s, some people could either care less that it is the New Year, or help take part in Chinese New Year. Remember, the Gregorian calendar is the one you look to for New Years.

I’m not being politically correct, I’m just looking out for other people in other backgrounds who may find it offensive that we don’t include them in their celebrations.

There is a reason why we say Happy Holidays now and not just Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

