Reflections on Wednesday, January 6th, 2021.

See the source image

The following piece is by me, from me, and has no media bias.

My fellow bloggers, friends, whomever, what you witnessed on Wednesday was something I hope none of us have to see again in our lifetime.

As I write this post 48 hours+ after it all started, I still can’t grasp what happened. It was an absolute shit show that has never happened during any Electoral College vote in the history of this great country. This is what makes this country stand out from the world. Before this year, we could have a peaceful transition of power from the outgoing President to the new President. One thing I remember from my history books is that when this first happened after the Election of 1800, the world was on edge because no one knew how a young republic would respond to a new leader. But, it went peaceful and the rest is history…until this year.

What we witnessed on Wednesday was disgusting, ugly, tasteless, horrifying, scary, and most of all, embarrassing. How do we move on from this chapter in our life? How did anyone explain to their children what they saw on the TV? Most of all, how can we prevent this in the future?

Still today, I’m sick to my stomach about this. Before you ask, I was sick to my stomach watching the city get torn apart during the Inauguration back in 2017 and I was just as upset when the Black Lives Matter protests were going on, even though I am pro-BLM.

It angers me and it has made me silently cry more times than it probably should have. While at work on Wednesday, I did a walkthrough just to get my mind off it and it didn’t really help.

What angers me the most is that there are still a lot of people out there that don’t see any issue at all in what happened today. Looking at you Mr. President and fellow Republicans in Congress.

I understand “Freedom of Speech” and I understand “Right to Bear Arms”. But this…this is too much.

I miss the days where we could just listen to one another and just work things out as a group and/or family by listening to one another. Instead it has became, “Your opinion sucks!!” and we decide to use violence and/or cut them from our lives.

I’m just tired of all this shit.

I love my country. I really do.

Oh and by the way, the last time the Capitol was stormed was in 1814 during the War of 1812. It caught on fire and was put out by the rain that fell during a Hurricane that was moving through the area. A Tornado was also spotted not far away either.

Published by Chris M.

An average American working, living, and is constantly busy.

Leave a comment